Time Machine Tuesday: The San Juan District, 1925

In the 1920s the Colorado State Board of Immigration published a series of booklets on Colorado’s regions, with the goal of attracting tourists and settlers to the various areas of the state.  In 1925 they focused on the San Juan region of Colorado, including the counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, Ouray, San Juan, and San Miguel.  In Colorado:  The San Juan District, the Board promotes the resources, industries, and attractions of the area as a whole, as well as for each county.  The booklet uses pictures to illustrate the beauty and productivity of the area, featuring photos of the Animas river valley; agriculture in the Montezuma Valley and the San Juan Basin; lakes, rivers, and mountains; and even ancient cliff dwellings.  This is an interesting look back at a region that has grown considerably in population and tourism, but also features some of the state’s finest natural and historical treasures.